NA Miata Tire Opinions

Go down

NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:36 am

G'day Renegades,

After the Test&Tune today, it has become quite clear that the All-Seasons on my NA are inadequate so I'm now in the market for new ones. Embarassed afraid I need them to be street-worthy and rain-worthy since I don't plan to swap tires between autocross events. Rob has suggested the Kumho ASX but these don't come in 14-inch and if I were to get them, I'd have to get some 15-inch rims as well. I'm on a pretty tight budget so I'd love to know my options. What do you think? I'm currently thinking of the Bridgestone Potenza RE960 AS because they have a special on TireRack.com but I've read on other forums that they can be "spongy". I'm not sure what they mean but clearly I'd trust your opinions more Smile Shocked

cheers,
Ivy

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  rtsap on Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:02 am

I would go with the Direzza®
Sport Z1 Star Spec
if it is in your budget. They are $96 at the tirerack and there is a $50 rebate. It is a great autox tire and it is good in the rain.

rtsap

Posts : 18
Join date : 2008-10-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  rtsap on Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:06 am


rtsap

Posts : 18
Join date : 2008-10-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:10 am

Thanks for your suggestion rtsap! Smile

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  rtsap on Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:01 pm

Ivy,
Here is another tire you might consider. Not as good for autox but better than an all season tire and
should last longer than the Dunlops.

Rob

http://www.thetireclub.com/content.wws?fname=proxes_t1r.html
http://www.onlinetires.com/products/vehicle/tires/toyo/195%252F55-14+toyo+proxes+t1r+82v.html

rtsap

Posts : 18
Join date : 2008-10-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:36 pm

These tires look awesome and are exactly what I need! Thanks heaps! I think I'll get these.

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  mike.s on Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:14 pm

Ivy, essentially there are several tires that you should be looking at:

Dunlop Direzza Star Spec
Falken Azenis Rt-615
Kumho XS (I assume that's what Rob recommended, not ASX)
Goodyear F1 GS-D3
Toyo T1R

I've been running Azenis for many years (195/60-14 size) on Miata and my other cars. excellent street/autocross tire. But every tire in this group will have its good and bad sides.

mike.s

Posts : 145
Join date : 2008-04-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:32 pm

thanks mike Smile

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:35 pm

I'm trying to get a hold of 4 Toyo T1Rs at the moment because apparently Toyo USA has apparently runned out of them and so have them on backorder to get another shipment from Japan. Was talking to the dude from Tireclub this morning and apparently this is also the last year that the Toyo T1Rs will be made.... Just thought that this might be useful to someone else too....

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  mike.s on Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:24 pm

You have to be a little careful with (soon to be) discontinued tires. If one blows out...

All signs point to Dunlop Direzza StarSpec in my opinion.

mike.s

Posts : 145
Join date : 2008-04-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  rtsap on Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:44 pm

The Dunlops would be great but you can also consider the Falken Azenis RT615k.
I did not mention these before because the prices I saw were much higher than the
Dunlops. Here is a link to Vulcan tire they have them for $85 which would be about the
same as the Dunlops after the rebate.
http://www.vulcantires.com/azenis_rt615k_t.htm

rtsap

Posts : 18
Join date : 2008-10-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  cuppatea on Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:23 am

Thanks Rob, I'll remember that for the future. For now though I've already ordered and paid for the Toyos, that's how I know that there's a slight shortage. I've basically ordered 2 from tireclub and another 2 from onlinetires. It's good to know that there are a whole heap of choices out there should I need to make this decision again

Thanks again for all your input!
Ivy

cuppatea

Posts : 6
Join date : 2009-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NA Miata Tire Opinions

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum